It’s voluntary!

The deadline to file tax returns for 2009 is two weeks from yesterday.  April 15, 2010 is now just 13 days away.

I have yet to make my filing, although I have submitted all of the necessary information to my accountant who will actually complete the  return for me.  But this year, I know, with absolute certainty, that I will owe money to the Federal government when I mail that return.  But, it will be so much more rewarding to know that my writing the check and mailing it (figuratively) to the current regime occupying the White House is purely voluntary, or at least it is according to Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid.  Don’t believe me?  Watch this video and be comforted that on the 15th, if you have not already done so, you ‘voluntarily’ send your money to the IRS.  Just keep telling yourself, “I really DO want to give my money to the government so that they can spend some portion of it on things I would NEVER spend my money on.  I do it of my own free will.  I would do it no matter what.  It’s what I do.  It’s my ‘thing’.  It’s how I roll.  Really!”

There now, doesn’t that make it better?

HT: my Dad

2 Responses to It’s voluntary!

  1. Judging from the number of federal employees, including Obama’s appointees, who don’t pay their taxes I guess it is somewhat voluntary.

  2. Chuck says:

    Stan, You are absolutely right. I had not considered it in that context.

Leave a Reply

