Thomas Paine’s Common Sense

Last Saturday, I published a book review of Glenn Beck’s Common Sense.  In that review I noted that I was particularly impressed with the wisdom of the founders of our country and the framers of our constitutional government.  So, I decided that I would share a few of the gems that I found in the “appendix” to Beck’s book that are from the pen (quite literally, a quill pen I suppose), of Thomas Paine.  I could have listed many more, these are just the ones that struck me. 

“a long habit of not thinking  a thing wrong, gives it the superficial appearance of being right,”

“government even in its best state is but a necessary evil; in its worst state an intolerable one,”

“Wherefore, security is the true design and end of government, it unanswerably follows that whatever form thereof appears most likely to ensure it to us, with the least expense and greatest benefit, is preferable to all others.”

“The reformation was preceded by the discovery of America, as if the Almighty graciously meant to open a sanctuary to the persecuted in future years, when home should afford neither friendship nor safety.”

“As to religion, I hold it to be the indispensalble duty of all government, to protect all conscientious professors thereof, and I know of no other business which government hath to do therewith.”

Brilliant!  Where can this sort of wisdom be found among the political leaders of our day? 

I dare say, it does NOT exist.  Sad, but I am afraid, true.

Leave a Reply

