An Earth Day Confession

melting-glacierYesterday, I posted an article, wherein I discussed all the things I did NOT do on Earth Day.  As I noted, all of these were evidence of my attempt to “tread lightly” on our planet. 

While I stand by each and every one of those examples, I have simply been wracked with guilt at how prideful those claims were.  While they were all true, I confess that I DID do some things that Al Gore, and others, would say will serve to shorten the lifespan of our dear planet Earth

Scripture tells us to confess our sins to one another (James 5: 16), so I hope that this medium will serve that purpose.  Here goes.  On Earth Day, I did the following:

  • I had to attend a meeting that was held about 50 miles from where I live.  I decided that participating via conference call was really not practical since it was a lunch meeting.  Maybe someone in the future will figure out how to do a telecommuting lunch, but for now, it seems like it won’t work.  I know that this will sound like I am making excuses, but I live in the country, so there is no public transportation.  And truthfully, I really never gave much thought to either walking or bicycling the 100 miles round-trip.  (I know, selfish.)  So, I concluded that driving was my best, (I know it was not a good one, but it was the best) option.  If it is any consolation, I did take my wife’s hybrid automobile instead of my gigantic environment destroying pick-up truck.
  • During the afternoon of Earth Day, I began to sense that sometime before the end of the day, my wife and I would get hungry.  You know where this is going, so I’ll just get right to the point.  I prepared a meal that required, sorry, the use of energy.  The meal that I prepared included ingredients that people generally regard as not healthy when eaten raw, so I cooked them, using both, (I feel terrible about this) propane gas and electricity.
  • On Wednesday evening, I’m going to guess it was around 8:30 or so, it got dark.  In fact, it was dark enough that we really could not see very well without the use of (yikes) electric lights.  So, I turned a few on.  Okay, maybe it was more than a few.  But I promise, our house could probably not be seen from outer space like the Las Vegas Strip or anything.  Besides, I was finding that reading in the dark was really not very productive, but I am willing to learn how this can be accomplished if anyone knows a trick that might help.
  • Perhaps this one is THE most scandalous.  I turned on the television because I HAD to find out who the two contestants were that were eliminated from American Idol.  In the event you were more respectful of The Earth and did not have your television turned on, those eliminated were Lil and Anoop.
  • Finally (okay there are probably more offenses, but this will be all for now) of all the days this week, I thoughtlessly, no, I’ll correct that and say it was done with a callous indifference, I picked Earth Day to re-charge my cell phone.  It was low on charge, and without even a second thought, I plugged it in.  I know you will be relieved that I unplugged the charger when it was not in use because I hear that the polar ice caps are melting because people leave their chargers plugged in when not in use.  If this shameful practice describes YOU, repent and unplug!  For the record, because I DO unplug, I did NOT cause what is seen in that picture above.  So there!
6 Responses to An Earth Day Confession

  1. Nomad says:

    poor Anoop; but at least he is really likable… there’s a lot of other things he can well I’m sure

    • Chuck says:

      Hey Nomad, thanks for commenting. You are right, Anoop is a likable guy. And he has pretty remarkable talent. The eliminations get tougher still, as at least three of the remaining five are outstanding. I am ready for Matt and Allison to pack up and go. I don’t care what order, but time to say goodbye.

  2. […] years has been the author’s reflection on everyone’s favorite holiday titled “An Earth Day Confession“.   We think people are less drawn to the snarky comments about a holiday that ought to […]

  3. […] a couple of posts dealing with Earth Day.  One dealt with things I did NOT do on Earth Day, the other was, well, a confession of those things that I did do that frankly had a deleterious impact on […]

  4. […] The statistical tools that are made available by WordPress to authors are a bit clunky.  But given that I use the free service, I am getting considerably more than I am paying for, so in spite of some obviously confusing data in the records, I can provide a few statistics about the site above and beyond the total site visits.   The two articles that received the most visits since the inception of WHATEVER! are the same as last year, but they have switched position.  By far and away the most visited article over the last three years has been the article focusing on the satirical rendering of an Obama Triple Self Portrait titled “Even Norman might get a laugh out of this.“  The Obama Triple Self Portrait speaks volumes on its own.  In second place this year is the author’s reflection on everyone’s favorite holiday titled “An Earth Day Confession“.     […]

  5. […] An Earth Day Confession April 2009 5 comments 3 […]

Leave a Reply

