When Sinners Say “I Do”


When it comes to books, I am seldom ahead of the crowd in terms of getting them read before the masses.  When Sinners Say “I Do” is not a new book.  It was published last year (2007), and for some of my readers, this book may be old news.  Still, after finally reading it, I am pleased to recommend it to any of my readers who have not already done so.  And for those who already have, I would love to get your feedback on how the book impacted your understanding and if you are married, how it has changed your perspective on your marriage relationship.

Books on the subject of marriage must surely number in the thousands, maybe tens of thousands.  And, I have read relatively few of them.  In fact, the only ones I can distinctly remember reading are The Exemplary Husband and The Excellent Wife.  Both provide very good instruction from a scriptural perspective about the individual roles of husband and wife.  Not surprisingly, I enjoyed The Exemplary Husband more than its companion for women, but I read The Excellent Wife so that I could confidently recommend it to the young women I have contact with, who are looking forward to marriage, either imminently, or simply looking to the future.

In When Sinners Say “I Do”, author Dave Harvey goes beyond simply telling the reader what scripture says about the roles and responsibilities of men and women in the bonds of marriage, he diagnoses the root problem that is present in ALL marriages…both spouses are sinners!  With wit, humor and wisdom he helps couples apply the truth of the Gospel to the marriage relationship.  And in so doing, he helps married couples strengthen the bonds of marriage and to see their potential to glorify God in their covenantal relationship.

Not a difficult read, and at 183 pages in length, not one that will take a great deal of time to tackle.  Every married person should read this book, unless of course you are not a sinner.

One Response to When Sinners Say “I Do”

  1. […] the second book I have read by Harvey, and while I would say it was not as compelling as his first, When Sinners Say ‘I Do’, it nonetheless was well worth the time I invested in […]

Leave a Reply

