You learn something new every day (or not).

I stumbled across something yesterday that seemed odd.  And it was still on my mind again this morning.  I guess it was more unsettling than I thought last night as I turned off my computer.  While I was checking out a friend’s blog, I linked over to another site.  A friend-of-a-friend connection.  The interesting thing, was not the blog post itself, (sorry) but rather, one of the comments submitted by someone who boldly goes by the name “a fellow blogger” but who does not supply his/her URL when they comment, thus preserving their anonymity.  Here’s the excerpt from that comment that had me thinking last night and again as I woke this morning:

“number one rule of blogging is to never apologize for a post. You know better, and shame on you for breaking that rule. Number two rule of blogging is to never clarify something that is already crystal clear. Let the reader decide if the commenter is being ridiculous or not,”

Several things struck me as I read this comment.  First of all, I was not aware that there was a formally adopted set of rules of blogging.  The whole blogging “thing” along with its content seems to be sort of a free-for-all, granting publishing rights to anyone with access to a computer and the Internet.  Secondly, if there are any formal rules, it seems hard to imagine that these two rules would rank in first and second ordonance (yeah it’s a word, look it up) in spite of the certainty with which “a fellow blogger” declares it. 

Third, (but really of first importance), I would love to know from “a fellow blogger” if these first and second rules apply to a blogger who professes a faith in Jesus Christ and who ought to be obedient to His rules as a priority over man-made conventions relating to the blogosphere? 

It strikes me that Christ would expect our effort toward reconciliation when we are made aware of our mistakes, and somewhere close to the beginning of that process would be an apology, rather than maintaining a smug self-righteousness. 

And absolute clarity of expression would seem to be a standard that we would desire to achieve in all of our communication irrespective of the subject matter.  But especially when it comes to matters related to God, which in the case of the blog post in question, was precisely the case, at least by way of reference.

Uber blogger Justin Taylor has apologized for and clarified posts he has made several times over the course of the last year.  The most recent example of which can be found here.  I hope that “a fellow blogger” will take the time to contact JT and least extend the courtesy of letting him know that he’s breaking these first two rules of blogging.  Once accomplished, Justin’s conscience can then guide his course. 

My Spirit lead conscience will do the same for me.

3 Responses to You learn something new every day (or not).

  1. Brandon says:

    Yeah…I thought that was weird too. It’s one of those things that’s so petty that you think to yourself, “Man, that’s legitimately absurd. I kinda want to comment on that.” But then, you realize it wouldn’t be worth wasting the time because if they’re not willing to put their name, then most likely they just want to argue anyway.

    Also, I think your comment about humility in being able to apologize for a post is right-on. How many times have I had to ask forgiveness from my wife for saying something stupid? How many times have I looked back on things I’ve written in the past and said, “Shouldn’t have said that.”? MANY times. Why should it be different in blogging?

    All of life is lived in repentance, blogging is no exception.

  2. Chuck says:

    Brandon:

    I was SO very close to responding to “a fellow blogger” at DO’s site on Thursday night, but your comment in response to his/her absurdity had such a grace about it that I was convicted not to. Thanks for your good example.

    But what he/she said bugged me so much, that I felt compelled to reflect on it here at my on site, and I dare say I probably was able to make the point better here than if I had done so on DO’s blog “in the moment.”

    I love your final comment above…”all of life is lived in repentance” Amen.

  3. Chuck says:

    A person named “Michael” posted a comment at DO’s site, specifically reacting to my blog. So, for my readers, I will provide the courtesy of providing the additional off-site reaction to my article, which incidently was intended to be a stand alone piece. The only reason my article linked back to DO’s site was due to technical reasons I cannot fully explain, but I do know it was an automatic function having to do with my identifying the source blog from which I found the interesting quote. At any rate Michael’s comment reads:

    “After reading the linked blog above [editor’s note: that is this article from my site] i’ve come to the startling realization that you guys need to lighten up. It’s a blog with a comment thread, not a proposed addendum to Blue Like Jazz.. Stop taking yourselves and your opinions so seriously.”

    What a curious reaction. The catalyst for my blog post was a comment on DO’s site that advanced the ideas that no one need ever aplogize for anything written in a blog, nor make any effort to clarify a point. I wondered out loud, here at my site, if those same rules applied to Christian bloggers. I believe that they do not.

    I will absolutely agree with Michael that I took the matter seriously. I try to take life seriously. It is too short to do otherwise, and the older I get, the more apparent that truth is. And I take seriously the application of God’s teaching to my life and my conduct. Evidently Michael was offended by this approach to life and my commentary on it. I make no apologies for expressing my thoughts above, as I think scripture is my defense, but I do extend a sincere apology to Michael for my offense to his sensibilities. Please forgive me.

Leave a Reply

