Left in the dark by “The Knight”

The box office numbers for The Dark Knight speak for themselves…record opening weekend, fastest movie to reach certain levels of box office sales, eventually expected to be the largest grossing movie ever, passing Titanic, etc, etc.

And comments from “experts” and others (including family and friends) sing the praises of this movie.  There was no question we would eventually get around to viewing it.  It was just a matter of when.  A combination of schedules and not being the least bit interested in joining the crazed masses to “see it first” have left us a little behind the curve on taking it in.

But, we finally did it.  And I must say, I am left with the most profound ambivilance I have had in a long time about a movie.  I can say without any hesitation whatsoever, that I am glad we saw it.  But equally, I really am left scratching my head wondering what all the hype and passion for the movie is all about.

Perhaps my lack of an enthusiastic reaction was because we saw the movie on an regular screen and not an Imax presentation.  And the theater we saw it in was having some audio problems that resulted in a few scenes being barely audible.  But I would not say we missed anything in the story because of either of these factors.

So someone please help me understand why YOU loved the movie, and are committed to seeing it again (and again).

3 Responses to Left in the dark by “The Knight”

  1. Brandon says:

    Well, I’ve seen it twice. Once without Bethan (so I could tell her if it was scary or not) and once with Bethan and two of our friends. Here are the reasons I liked it:

    -Ledger’s Joker performance: I’m not a movie buff, so I don’t claim to have a handle on who the best actors are across the board. But I do know what convincing acting looks like (like in “There Will be Blood”). And Ledger was very convincing. His character is evil. His motivations were purely for destruction. So…the villain was a very convincing villain.

    -Cinematography: Of course there are movies with better camera work, but it was still great.

    -Interesting Savior Figure: Batman had an interesting role at the end, playing the scapegoat for Harvey Dent’s screw-ups; a very relevant example we can use to explain Jesus’ role as the Lamb of God — “he who knew no sin became sin on our behalf”.

    -Interesting Worldview: I disagree with the film’s worldview. It is obviously humanistic and it elevates some sort of perceived “goodness” within humans. I mean, the goal of the Joker was to break people’s trust in the goodness of humans, and Batman disagreed, arguing that there is always hope that human goodness will shine through. This is fundamentally backward. Jesus actually told us that we cannot hope in ourselves, but that we must trust in him. So, while I disagree, I think it’s enlightening as to what a major part of our world believes concerning humanity.

    So…those are my reasons why. Also, I’m a sucker for hero flicks. I’ll watch any comic-book-come-to-life movies.

  2. Chuck says:

    Hey Brandon

    Great observations and comments. Since you have seen the movie twice, do you recall if you were able to reach these conclusions after only the first viewing? It goes without saying that the second time you watched the movie, you saw more and maybe differently. So, that said, I am wondering if my having seen it just the one time, might account for my being so relatively underwhelmed. Equally, I wonder if perhaps the seemingly universal high acclaim for the movie set my expectations too high.

  3. Brandon says:

    Actually, much of what I noticed came about the first time. I definitely could see high expectations having much to do with it. While I loved the movie, I didn’t love it as much as other movies…like Shawshank Redemption (which has yet to be surpassed as my favorite movie). Some movies are great, some surpass greatness. I think Batman was just great.

Leave a Reply

