No fooling!

My fun loving wife, kids and friends would probably say I am old, or boring, or a spoil-sport.  But the bottom line is that I just don’t get April Fools Day.  I have tried to research its origins, and have not found very much either in the way of fascinating history, or fun legends of famous April Fools Day spoofs, that that make me say, “oh, well that really makes sense.”  What I did find was explanations confirming what I already knew of the day…it is oriented around creating humor at the expense of someone else, specifically the victim of some prank.

Perhaps I have some unrecognized pathological/psychological aversion to this sort of activity.  Was I was teased mercilessly when I was a child and consequently am opposed to the same being done to others?  Frankly, I have no recollection of any such mistreatment. 

Maybe I don’t appreciate the fine art of teasing as an expression of admiration or love for someone else.  Because if that is the motivation, at best this seems childish and awkwardly immature.  In the equation of “loving our neighbor,” I think that it matters far less how love is expressed, and far more, how love is perceived and received.  Furthermore, I am hard pressed to understand how love is expressed when the cost is born by the recipient.

And finally, I am at something of a loss to explain April Fools in light of Matthew 7: 12.  Unless of course, you are the kind of person who is expecting the “favor” to be returned.  If that is the case, you may be causing someone to sin by disobeying the teaching of Paul in Romans 12: 17-19 unless their heart attitude is geared toward the repayment being “all in fun.”  And how can you be certain of that?

Leave a Reply

