Tagged!

I was tagged by Leigh (my wife) to supply 6 “non-important things/habits/quirks about myself.”  And I am supposed to subsequently tag 6 more people.  But the reality is I don’t know that many people in the blogosphere.  I can’t simply go to my blogroll, as most of the people I know personally were tagged earlier on in this string.  And my suspicion is that neither Mohler nor Challies would play along, although it would be fun to see what they would say. 

So, here we go with at least the first obligation:

1.)   I remain unconvinced that there is ANYTHING more important in a local television newscast than the weather segment.  I need to see the weather report.  Mostly because there is so much I can do about it.

2.)  Most people have heard of and have probably enjoyed a Coke or Root Beer “float.”  You know…vanilla ice cream with soft drink poured over it?  Well, over the Christmas holidays, I concocted a new “float.”  (At least it was new to me.)  It involves vanilla bean ice cream, (not “home-style” vanilla, not “French vanilla”, but the real deal vanilla) with Egg Nog poured over it.  Now, before you react too negatively, hear me out.  You definitely don’t get the foam like a regular float, but instead, you get the coldest, thickest, creamiest egg nog you have ever had.  I estimate each serving is somewhere around 100,000 calories.

3.)  One of my favorite movies is Father of the Bride.  Not the original with Spencer Tracy and Elizabeth Taylor, but the remake staring Steve Martin, Kimberly Williams, Diane Keaton and Martin Short.  I can’t even number the times I have watched it.  On several levels I can identify with Steve Martin’s character, George Banks.  BUT, when my daughter got married last October, I think I was able to avoid most of the exhibited psychoses and melt-downs that George experienced.  But I may not be the one to ask.

4.)  Boxers or briefs?  Wait a second!  Commando is not one of my choices?  Well between these two, I’ll say “Yes.”  And while on the unusual blog topic of underwear, I have a question.  What is the deal with those hybrid things that appear to be some morph between boxers and briefs?  They seem to offer features of both, without the benefits of either.  They look like something inspired by baseball sliding shorts to be worn under street cloths in the event you’re in a big hurry and have to slide into work or the classroom.  Does anyone really wear these things?  If so, I would like to know what inspired you to try them in the first place.  No judgment here, just bewilderment.

5.)  Mac or PC?  Hey, I am an old guy, so its PC all the way.  Furthermore dude, it’s a Dell.  And in that regard, I’m in good company!

6.)  Coke or Pepsi?  I worked for The Coca-Cola Company for many years.  Therefore the obvious answer is…Coke.  But as for what I drink…well, it’s Dr. Pepper most of the time. 

In the unlikely event that anyone would like to volunteer to join this meme thing, feel free to jump right in.  Tag, you’re it!

One Response to Tagged!

  1. Brandon says:

    First of all, you said “commando” on your blog. I’d like to thank you for that. I’m laughing right now. I especially hope your children read this post.

    Secondly, I read the link you have regarding Mac vs. PC, and I think that’s funny. Especially Joe Thorn’s comments about Driscoll not being able to reach today’s culture with a PC. I am a Mac user myself (I was converted this past year), but I think it’s funny how many people consider Mac to be a more “hip” company.

Leave a Reply

