Warning – not necessary. Video contains GOOD stuff.

For some of the readers of this blog, children are a future part of their lives, Lord willing.  For others, the reality of having GROWN children is still years away.  My wife and I have reached that point…both kids are educated, employed and on their own, have been for a couple or more years.  They are living responsible and productive lives.  I know that pride is something to be avoided.  But I am proud of both of them.

When our kids were young, we were attentive to their spiritual formation.  We were intentional about it, and tried to the best of our abilities to model what it means to be a Christ-follower.  We were serious about this matter while they were under our roof, but it has been interesting to see how my desire for their spiritual care has not diminished by their being on their own.  I suppose this is a natural occurrence, but one that I had not particularly anticipated.  I thank God for impressing that upon me as a parent.  I am especially thankful that, according to His good pleasure, God has chosen them and caused their regeneration. 

This short video is our son’s pastor.  I met Matt Chandler several years ago when he was running a college ministry.  The particular occasion when I met him was when he spoke to a youth group at the Christian camp that I am a board member for.  I was impressed with him at that time.  And I am still impressed with him.  But now I am glad that THIS is the man who shepherds my son, who worships at his church in north Texas.  And I might add, a church our son found “on his own.”  Or shall I say providentially.

My encouragement to anyone reading these words:  Take to heart Deuteronomy 6: 6-8 and Proverbs 22: 6.  Can’t recall them off the top of your head?  Look them up, it will do you good.  And, oh by the way, if there is any doubt, these passages are dead-on.  My family is proof of it.

One Response to Warning – not necessary. Video contains GOOD stuff.

  1. Leigh says:

    Praise God that he knew the desires of our heart and through Him we were able to train those two precious children in the way they should go. I thank God for that.

Leave a Reply

